Russian Masters: Prokofiev and Stravinsky


The brilliance of Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3, with its electrifying cadenzas and lyrical brilliance performed by Sacramento native Parker Van Ostrand, is the midpoint of an evening that opens with Jessie Montgomery’s Records from a Vanishing City, inspired by an Angolan lullaby. Completing the program, Stravinsky’s Pulcinella Suite, with its harmonic and rhythmic twists, is pure twentieth-century inventiveness and pure Stravinsky. 

The 2024-25 season is available on subscription only at this time. Single tickets will go on sale in August.

The Sacramento Philharmonic & Opera 2024-2025 Season and Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Ari Pelto, for the 2024-2025 season, are generously underwritten by the Nancy and Hank Fisher Family Fund.

Performance Dates & Times

February 8, 2025
7:30 pm
SAFE Credit Union Performing Arts Center

Concert Information


Jessie MONTGOMERY Records from a Vanishing City
PROKOFIEV  Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26
STRAVINSKY Pulcinella Suite